Writing

Andrew is an editor-at- large at National Geographic Traveler, and has written for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Atlantic, Time, Travel+Leisure, Town & Country, Men’s Journal, Bon Appetit, and many others. He has received six Lowell Thomas awards, and been named Travel Journalist of the Year by The Society of American Travel Writers. See Video Clip of Andrew talking travel on National Geographic Live!

His 2017 YA novel, JUST FLY AWAY, was a New York Times bestseller (click here to read the NY Times review) as was his travel memoir, THE LONGEST WAY HOME (NY Times review). He was guest editor of the prestigious BEST AMERICAN TRAVEL WRITING anthology in 2015.

  • GET THE BOOKS
  • GET THE BOOKS
  • GET THE BOOKS
  • GET THE BOOKS

SELECT ARTICLES

cboxClose

American Way

cboxClose

National Geographic Traveler

cboxClose

Travel + Leisure

cboxClose

The Atlantic

cboxClose

The New York Times

cboxClose

The New York Times Style Magazine

cboxClose

Time

cboxClose

Islands

cboxClose

Bon Appetit

cboxClose

Men's Journal

cboxClose

The Wall Street Journal

cboxClose

Mariner

cboxClose

AFAR

cboxClose

Westways

cboxClose

Los Angeles Times

cboxClose

The Best American Travel Writing

cboxClose

Caribbean Travel + Life

cboxClose

The Huffington Post

cboxClose

The Daily

cboxClose

National Geographic Adventure

cboxClose

Parade

cboxClose

The Guardian

cboxClose

Irish Times

cboxClose

Fashion

cboxClose

Town & Country

cboxClose

BBC Autos

cboxClose

Coastal Living

cboxClose

Portland Monthly

cboxClose

Links

JOIN ANDREW McCARTHY ON TOUR

Tuesday, March 28 at 7pm
Barnes & Noble Union Square
In conversation with Gayle Forman
33 E. 17th St., New York, NY 10003

Wednesday, March 29 at 7pm
Barnes & Noble
Vernon Hills Shopping Center
680 Post Rd., Eastchester, NY 10583

Thursday, March 30 at 7pm
Books & Greetings
271 Livingston St., Northvale, NJ 07647

Saturday, April 1
Texas Teen Book Con | Houston, TX

Sunday, April 2
Alamo Drafthouse | Austin, TX

Monday, April 3 at 7pm
Books, Inc Opera Plaza
Not Your Mother’s Book Club
601 Van Ness Ave., San Francisco, CA 94107

Tuesday, April 4 at 7pm
Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925

Wednesday, April 5 at 8pm
Live Talks LA
In conversation with Pico Iyer
Ann and Jerry Moss Theatre, New Roads School
3131 Olympic Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90404

Thursday, April 6 at 7pm
Elliott Bay Books
1521 10th Ave., Seattle, WA 98122

Friday, April 7 at 7pm
Powell’s Books
3415 SW Cedar Hills Blvd., Beaverton, OR 97005

Sunday, April 9 at 5pm
Politics & Prose
5015 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20008

Monday, April 10 at 7pm
Boswell Books
2559 N. Downer Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53211

Tuesday, April 11 at 7pm
The Book Stall at Chestnut Court
In conversation with Betsy Bird
811 Elm St., Winnetka, IL 60093

Wednesday, April 12 at 7pm
Talk of the Stacks Series
Hennepin County Library
Minneapolis Central Library
300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55401

Thursday, April 13 at 6:30pm
Parnassus Books
Hillsboro Plaza Shopping Center
3900 Hillsboro Pike #14, Nashville, TN 37215

Tuesday, April 18 at 6:30pm
Rainy Day Books
At Woodneath Library
8900 N. Flintock Rd., Kansas City, MO 64157

Wednesday, April 19 at 7pm
St. Louis County Library
With The Novel Neighbor
1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63131

Thursday, April 20 at 7pm
Georgia Center for the Book
With Little Shop of Stories
Dekalb County Public Library
215 Sycamore St., Decatur, GA 30030

Friday, April 21 at 7pm
Books & Books
265 Aragon Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134

Tuesday, April 25 at 7pm
Barnes & Noble
Market Fair, 3535 US-1 #400, Princeton, NJ 08540

Wednesday, April 26 at 7pm
Brookline Booksmith
279 Harvard St., Brookline, MA 02446

Monday, May 1 at 7pm
Darien Library
In conversation with Dani Shapiro
1441 Post Rd., Darien, CT 06820

PRE-ORDER NOW